Intermediate Ruby on Rails - Part 1

You will code along with Matt as he builds the application. Do what he does, pause the video if you need to catch up or explore something further. Hop into the forums to ask questions as you have them. We find that the act of doing is a very effec...
This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://thoughtbot.com/upcase/videos/intermediate-part-1

Can someone explain this line?

shout = current_user.shouts.build(shout_parameters)

I’ve always done:

@shout = Shout.new(shout_parameters)

How is it different?

Hi @greggawatt I’m a student like you here learning Ruby so I may be wrong, but the way I see it when you create a new Shout via User model you don’t have to worry about the association between them (and as a result in having shouts that are associated with an incorrect user), so this sets user_id automatically:

shout = user.shouts.build(shout_parameters)

while this one does not set user_id unless you permit it in shout_parameters method and pass it via HTTP request parameters:

shout = Shout.new(shout_parameters)

So, ideally you want to use the former way and only permitting shout parameters that are not related to the association (like user_id) in private shout_parameters method.

Hope that helps

correct me if im wrong but is the question comparing ‘build’ vs ‘new’? because I think build is just an alias for new, so u still needs current_user in creating a new shout so that you wont need to know the id of the current_user

According to my knowledge build is doing exactly what new does, additionally it updates the Collection with which new Model is associated. So after using build to create new user shout, you could save new shout in persistence layer by calling save method on user:

shout = user.shouts.build(shout_parameters)

# now user.shouts contain new shout
# and you can run .save method on either user or shout
shout.save
# or
user.save