New here, saying Hi!

I just signed up for Upcase. I’m entirely self taught for close to two years. I been working on www.dontbelazy.today and been getting help from a Thoughtbot Dev at Hackerhours on Sunday over at the Flatiron School.

I wanted to say Hi to the folks on here. I’m from Harlem, NY and would love to pair up with peeps here or get a coffee with NYC people while we work on our projects!

Happy coding guys!

-Sze Chan

Hey Sze, and welcome!

I just signed up for dontbelazy.today.

Two small recommendations: remove password confirmation and email confirmation. Would make it easier to sign up (and make the signup for less intimidating).

Also, nice job adding the discover link to my dashboard, but I’m not totally clear on what I should do now that I’ve signed up.

Hey! Dude I’m going through your VIM track just now and it’s surreal watching a video of you and then a notification pops up that you replied to my post! Cool!

I think I should prompt the user more for easy engagement. They are suppose to think of a task they want to accomplish and post it on the left form. (The app then tells the user that if she doesn’t check in, they will get a text about it). That’s the other thing I haven’t thought about much yet, how do you make sure users know how to use your app, the User experience.

I think I will need to have some sort of visual demo with arrows and stuff.

Thanks for your feedback Ben! I’m going to force myself to use VIM all week and have it become a part of my flow.

1 Like

Yeah VIM is the best, I’m going to signup to your app as well.
Quick question, how are you hosting your rails app, VPS or something like Heroku?

Cheers and welcome!

1 Like

I am hosting the app on Heroku because it’s probably the easiest way to deploy an app and push up production code that I know. (Actually the only way I know right now, my Sysadmin friend recently suggested i move over the DigitalOcean but I thought it was too complicated for a simple app like this)