We're retiring some trails

Hey all,

I wanted to give you a heads-up about something, and also to get your feedback.

We want Upcase to be perfect for turning intermediate-level Rails developers into highly-employable badasses that write great code. Our ideal members are likely recent bootcamp grads, currently-employed junior developers, or self-taught folks trying to land their first job.

We explicitly want to stay out of the newbie market. It’s not our strong-suit, and there are lots of good resources that cover the basics of Ruby and Rails already.

Additionally, we think our strength lies in sharing the lessons and best practices we’ve learned by developing hundreds of applications for our clients. We’d like to publish this sort of information, rather than simple introductions to various tools that anyone could produce.

With that in mind, we took a look at our existing trails and decided that some should be retired. A few fall too far outside our main focus (like Haskell Monads), and a few are too basic (like Rails Fundamentals).

Here’s a list of what we’re planning on retiring:

https://thoughtbot.com/upcase/pages/retired-trails

These trails will disappear from your dashboard soon-ish, but will continue to be accessible through the page above until 9/1.

Questions for you all: will you miss any of these trails in a big way? What do you think of the focus I’ve described above?

1 Like

I like the focus, and though I would probably like to learn about Haskell Monads, I’m cool with Upcase not being the place for that.

1 Like

Refining focus is great and I can see how this is a good step in that direction.

I was happy with having Haskell, iOS and Ember stuff, but to be honest that was just a good excuse to play with those things. If they give way to more dedicated, in-depth Ruby content, I can’t see that as a loss.