How to link to a create action from email template

I have an ‘unsubscribe’ model where an unsubscribe record gets created when the user clicks on this link within the app:

link_to "Unsubscribe from comments on this post", post_unsubscribes_path(@post), method: :post

I would like to provide the same link in an email when the user gets notified of comments. The only problem is ‘method: post’ doesn’t work in an email (reverts to a ‘get’ request). Here is the controller:

class UnsubscribesController < ApplicationController
  def create
    post = Post.find(params[:post_id])
    current_user.unsubscribes.create(post: post)
    redirect_to post_path(post), :notice => 'You are now unsubscribed from comments on this post.'
  end
end

Any ideas on how to go about doing this from an email? I googled endlessly and I can’t find anything even though this seems like it would be pretty common. Do I need to change how I go about this in the controller?

Hey @savmac,

I believe the issue here is that post_unsubscribes_path in your link_to should be post_unsubscribe_path.

I hope that helps!
-Chad

Hmm, I get an undefined method error when I try that. post_unsubscribes_path works in the app’s view, but not in the sent email because it’s trying to use rails built in javascript form magic with method: post (I think).
Here’s the current route:

resources :posts do
  resources :likes, :only => [:create]
  resources :unsubscribes, :only => [:create]
end

So I figured out a way to do this, I changed the route to:

resources :unsubscribes, :only => [:index]
end

so now it will accept a get request.
Then I changed the controller to:

before_action :authenticate_user!, :create_unsubscribe

def index

end

def create_unsubscribe
    post = Post.find(params[:post_id])
    current_user.unsubscribes.create(post: post)
    redirect_to post_path(post), :notice => 'You are now unsubscribed from comments on this post.'
  end
end