What type of association works best when dealing with different "User" types?

I’m developing a new Rails app and it’s required to have 3 different types of users, lets say user A, user B and user C.

All of them have different properties and different Models depend on each one, but they should also share some of them, like the username property so its possible to refer to the profile via URL (Like on facebook or twitter), or select user’s country, city, etc.

I was wondering if a polymorphic association would be the best approach, creating A, B and C models independently and sharing a Global User model.

class GlobalUser < ActiveRecord::Base
  belongs_to :userable, polymorphic: true
end

class UserA < ActiveRecord::Base
  has_one :user, as: :userable
end

class UserB < ActiveRecord::Base
end

class UserC < ActiveRecord::Base
end

I’m kind of new to Rails and I’ve never required this type of association before, so any help or suggestion provided will be very helpful.

Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks everybody in advance and sorry for my English :wink:

It would help to know the actual types of users in question here. UserA, UserB, and UserC aren’t adding much to the domain knowledge. It’s also unclear what the end goal of having the different types of users is. For the sake of clarifying the conversation some, let’s say you had Student, Instructor and Administrator and the reason you had this was that they would have different types of questions to answer on their user profile.

I would consider keeping a single User model which contains only information necessary to log in and information common to all user types. The user would have a polymorphic profile that contained the unique fields needed for the user types.

For instance:

class User
  belongs_to :profile, polymorphic: true
end

class StudentProfile
  has_one :user, as: :profile
end

class InstructorProfile
end

class AdminProfile
end