Building The Upcase Community

I was watching “Ask Ben Anything” and @benorenstein mentioned something about building a stronger Upcase community. Then it led me to think why I continue to subscribe to Upcase and why it is a valuable service to me. Like many others here, I really enjoy weekly iterations. But I love that Upcase/Thoughtbot actually cares about their craft, and are generous with their knowledge.

As a subscriber, I really hope to see Upcase continue to evolve… After watching Ben’s video, I am going to propose an idea about “building” the Upcase community other than commenting on forums… I have no experience in building communities, but would like to be part of community that helps each other to be better developers…

Here are some thoughts:

When I think of Thoughtbot, it seems like they value apprenticeship model of training junior developers, giving back to open source projects, and continuously learning to sharpen their software craftsmanship. That made me think, how can that somehow be translated to the Upcase subscribers? Then I thought… rather than practicing modules (although they are great), maybe it will be exciting to build an actual app together. A small application or even a non profit project that will actually help the community in real life.

Maybe through this process, Upcase/Thoughtbot developers can help guide (apprenticeship style) in how to write code, test (TDD), document, agile/scrum project management, and even how to be involved in open source project.

While all of us could probably build an app by ourselves, or be involved in some open source projects, I thought maybe building an app together can be fun…?

Just an idea. I would love to hear if other subscribers have some other ideas.

5 Likes

I’d enjoy being involved in this.

If a group comes together, I’d be happy to act as an advisor/code reviewer/etc.