Why is the Workshop Best Practices for Front End Development removed

I noticed that the Work Shop Best Practices for Front End Development was removed. What’s the reason for this.

I subscribed to Thoughtbot Prime especially for this workshop, because as a developer, I would like to make my applications look nice. I was looking forward to the video tutorials for this workshop.

Too bad,

Anthony

3 Likes

My guess is that they will release updates for ‘Best Practices for Front End Development’ and the ‘Backbone’ workshop soon :]

@ed_wassermann I really hope so, because Neat and Bourbon are awesome tools!

Hi Anthony,

We removed the reference to the Front-End Workshop because we decided we’d rather just announce things when they’re ready to ship.

Unfortunately, that particular workshop is in a holding pattern right now. There were some issues in the first iteration that we ran that we want to resolve, and it’s likely that we won’t have a final product in the near term.

I understand that’s disappointing. If you feel that you didn’t get good value from your subscription without that workshop, please email us at learn@thoughtbot.com and we’ll refund you.

-Ben

Hi Ben, fair enough.

I really hope eventually there will be video tutorials on the ‘Best practices for front end development’, because Neat and Bourbon are awesome tools, but documentation on how to use them is scarce.

I would love to see, hear things like how to set up and organize a website project using Neat and Bourbon, refactoring your style definitions, implement responsive navigation menu’s, images, etc …

greetings,

Anthony

@benorenstein, what were the issues you found in the first iteration? I could quibble with a few things but I found it largely good. When you say you won’t release it in the near term - does that mean you will release it in the long term or you don’t know yet? I learned a bunch of useful things in that workshop myself…