Learning Design - Feedback on what I have so far?

Hi there! I posted for help a few days ago on where to go for help. Thanks for the responses so far. I’ve gotten a good portion of the “framework” done on my site now, and just need to look at tweaking typography and colors.

Here is what I have so far: ColbyCheeZe

Any suggestions going forward, or things I should keep in mind when building a blog? I’ll focus on the small details like adding comments, analytics, logos, etc etc later. Just want to get something basic going so I can start making content!

1 Like

It’s looking great so far, it’s straightforward has a good amount of contrast. I would get rid of all the em tags/italicized text, however. I’m not a web designer (at least that’s not what my official job title says), but I think em tags/italics are generally reserved for emphasis.

See here for a more intelligent response to the subject. I tried swapping out the em tags with paragraph elements in my console and it looks a lot cleaner in my opinion.

Bah, I think I accidentally deleted my original response.

It looks very good so far, but my only suggestion would be to get rid of all the italics. I think simple paragraph tags or blockquotes would be better suited for the summaries below the blog titles.

Here’s a discussion on the use of italics in web design: typography - On which occasions would you use italics in web design? - Graphic Design Stack Exchange.

Another critique I have would be to try and constrain the blog title so they’re in the same column as the article content:

I’d just say that it’d be great to make it mobile friendly. I can give you some tips on this if you need them :wink:

Looks good! I’m not a designer, but a few small comments:

• In the Recent Articles section, the entries which wrap over two lines look like two separate links. A minor adjustment to the whitespace between links would would help.