RubyMotion, ObjectiveC or somthing else?

Hello,

I’m look for options I have to build native application on IPhones. I already know and love Ruby and, at first glance, I don’t like the Objective-C’s synthax.

I’m interested to have your opinion on those alternatives. What is your preference. Do you have a better alternative?

Thanks!

Hi,

RubyMotion and Objective-C are the 2 best choices. I would stick to one of those because of the great support that exists for them. I’m an Objective-C developer so I don’t mind the syntax but I know it’s very different than Ruby. I’d say give Objective-C a try. It’s the language of Apple so you’ll find the most help with that when you hit bugs or try to figure something out. If it ends up being something you really can’t stand you can always go back to RubyMotion and you’ll have a better understanding of that from the time with Objective-C. Whatever you decide, good luck and have fun!

Tony

Objective C is very easy if u know some java.

Why? The synthax is very not similar. Do you mean it’s the same philosophy and the way to do objects is the same?

The syntax isnt the same but it is just like java. It is a compiled language, has the same concepts. I was an iphone programmer for 3 yrs and not am into the backend. Ruby and Rails are truly awesome but only when you have lots of memory on your side. You will learn how to free your memory when programing in objective c plus you will be the first one to play around with the the ios8 when it releases.

I wouldn’t think too much about Java, honestly. You should definitely use either native Objective-C or RubyMotion. If you’re comfortable with Ruby, RM isn’t a bad choice. No matter which you choose, you’ll spend more time learning the frameworks than the language. Objective-C actually isn’t that hard to learn.

Alright, I’ll bite.