UTC+0 (London) - Let's Pair

• Available evenings/weekends
  • Middle-to-senior level but happy to pair with people at any level
  • I Normally focus on backend Rails but I’d love to pick up more JS
  • I have my app techradar.io, but I’d prefer to pair on something else.
1 Like

@andyw8 I’d love to pair. I can do 8pm London time any day. I’d say I’m an intermediate level Rails dev, and I have an app we could work on.

Are you up for it? You can email me at alejo@juntostudio.com or reply here.

@alejorivera - great, I’ve sent you an email.

This, right here, is a beautiful thing. :smile:

Thought I’d write up a little about the pairing session with Alejo.

Alejo is an Atom user, so we decided to use Google Hangouts for screen sharing. Alejo done the driving and I watched and commented.

Alejo began by describing the feature he wanted to implement. The initial scope of the problem was potentially quite big, so we cut it down to a smaller task, that we could expand on later.

We drove the implemention with TDD, starting with a feature spec, and later dropping into the controller and model specs.

Some of the interesting things that came up:

• The importance of being able to run a test from within your editor, preferrably with an easy keyboard shortcut.

• I’m very used to adding a call to binding.pry to troubleshoot a failing test. This works in Vim, but it seems not to in Atom - we could see the Pry prompt but there was no way to interact with it.

• We discussed the pros and cons of writing controller specs versus just relying of feature specs. Since Alejo hadn’t written one before, we decided to go ahead for the experience.

• We talked about how passing params as hidden form fields may be a security risk, since they can be modified by an end user.